Who we are

CCP is rare, unique nationwide actually. Our help for children battling cancer is IMMEDIATE, COMPREHENSIVE and CONTINUOUS until each child reaches age 21. We help families overcome distance and cost barriers so their child’s care is timely and complete

From blankets to so much more.

In 2001, along with other members of the Spartanburg Optimist International Club, Tom Russell responded to that organization’s nationwide commitment to fund childhood cancer research, asking “what can we do to help locally?” Quickly they discovered how very few places treat childhood cancer, and what a struggle it is for families to get their children to…

Read the full story

Meet the team

  • Laura Allen

    Executive Director
  • Shannon Brown, LISW-CP, LCSW

    Director of Family Programs
  • Kim Melick

    Director of Operations
  • Tom Russell

    Founder & Family Advocate
  • Carla Fowler

    Family Advocate Manager
  • Blake Stafford-Gomez

    Family Advocate
  • Yasmeen Hardy

    Family Advocate
  • Jordan Ann Owens

    Family Support Coordinator
  • Erica Teal

    Communications Coordinator
  • Jennifer Weaver

    Community Outreach Coordinator
  • Debi Abbott

    Development Coordinator
  • Kate Morrow

    Special Projects or Whatever

Volunteer Leadership

As a public charity recognized under Internal Revenue Service Code section 501(c)(3), CCP is governed by a volunteer board of community, business and professional leaders, who contribute their time and talents to overseeing our mission and strategy. Members are enlisted from across the Carolinas, serving three-year terms, and elect their board officers annually. Nominations are welcome.


Board of Directors – Executive Committee

  • Chair — Ryan Gaylord
  • Vice Chair — Sheila Breitweiser, Ed D
  • Treasurer — Cal Wicker
  • Secretary — Stone Kelley McLeod
  • Past Chair — Sheila Ingle
  • Laura Allen (ex officio)


Board Members

  • Karla Butler
  • Brian Carey
  • Ruth Cate
  • Ki Chung, MD
  • Louise Connell
  • Nene Gunn
  • Bet Hamilton
  • Martin Huff
  • Melinda Moretz, MD
  • Marsha Moore
  • Jill Van Pelt